Taxes and duties in Peru

The national tax office in Peru is known as the National Customs and Tax Administration Supervisory Authority (SUNAT). There are no local or provincial taxes on income in Peru. All residents are taxed on income that they earn worldwide, while non-residents are taxed only on income earned in Peru. For taxation purposes, to be considered a resident in Peru as a foreign national you have to spent more than 183 days a year in the country. In addition, foreign companies are taxed on gross income. To prevent being taxed twice on your income if you have sources of income from other places than Peru, it is important to check with the tax office in your country of origin to clarify whether you are liable for taxes in more than one country. If this is the case, you can prevent being charged twice by proving that you already paid tax over the amount. It would be beneficial to hire a qualified accountant in Peru who can help you to minimize your tax liability.
  • Corporate income tax (CIT) of 27% for 2017 to 2018, and 26% from 2019 on worldwide net income
  • Dividend tax of 8% for 2017 to 2018, 9.3% from 2019
  • Capital gains tax of  6.25% on the net income from sales of assets or property. Non-residents have to pay a capital gains tax of 30%, also when transferring property held in the country.
  • Value added tax/sales tax (VAT) of 18%
  • Financial transactions tax of 0.005% of transaction value
  • Net Assets Tax (ITAN) of 0.04% of net assets
  • Real estate tax of 0.2%, 0.6% & 1% of the real estate value
  • Vehicles tax of 1% of the vehicle value
  • Social security contributions of 9% on gross salary